Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List

HomeHall of Fame
Past Hall of Fame Honorees
2023 Hall of Fame Souvenir Booklet

The Albany State University National Alumni Association Hall of Fame was established to honor and perpetuate the memory of those individuals who, through work, participation, support or interest, have brought recognition, honor and distinction to themselves, the Albany State University National Alumni Association, and Albany State University. In that vein, the Albany State University National Alumni Association (ASUNAA) is hosting a red-carpet event to induct officially Ms. Tamara Hampton Nelson into the ASUNAA Hall of Fame.

Alumni Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Luncheon,
Saturday, September 9, 2023, at noon in the Albany State University Student Center Ballrooms, West Campus.

Download Letter and Ad Form Here:
2023 Hall of Fame Announcement Letter
2023 Hall of Fame Ad Form

Purchase Ad Here:
Alumni Hall of Fame 2023 Sep 9th 12 Noon - 9/9/2023

The 2023 Induction Ceremony presents a tremendous opportunity for you to welcome her to this prestigious group by attending the event and to promote your business to some of Georgia’s most influential and political business leaders by buying an advertisement. This ad is also a great way to offer congratulations to Ms. Tamara Hampton Nelson. Please indicate your ad and fill in the contact and payment information on the form enclosed. E-mail your ad by August 19, 2023 to Please send your check or money order and a hard copy of the ad to the address below (the Association’s P.O. Box). There will be a revealing and pinning ceremony in the ASU Student Center, West Campus, following the Induction/Luncheon. We are asking all past honorees, family, alumni, and friends to attend. For more information, please contact Sue Bivins Fountain @ or (706) 593-1984. PLEASE MAIL FORM WITH A CREDIT CARD NUMBER, CHECK, CASHIER’S CHECK, OR MONEY ORDER TO THE FOLLOWING ADDRESS: ASU National Alumni Association Office, c/o Ms. Eartha Watkins or Mrs. Gloria Powell, P.O. Box 4969, Albany, Georgia 31706. You may call the office at (229) 894-3594.

Thanking you in advance,
Dr. TaKeshia Thomas, President, ASU National Alumni Association
Mrs. Susie Bivins Fountain, Co-Chairperson, ASUNAA Hall of Fame Committee
Ms. Yolande Penn, Co-Chairperson, ASUNAA Hall of Fame Committee

Ms. Tamara Hampton Nelson, the 2023 inductee, was nominated in the General Category because of her service and achievements in Community Service and Business and Industry. She is a 1986 graduate who earned a Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA), with an emphasis in accounting, from the Unsinkable Albany State College. She is a 1982 Initiated Member of Delta Rho Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and is currently affiliated with the Stone Mountain-Lithonia Alumnae Chapter in Stone Mountain, Georgia. Furthermore, she was president of Delta Rho Chapter (2 years), treasurer of Atlanta HBCU Alumni Alliance, active member of the National Alumni Association since 2009, past president of the DeKalb County Area Alumni Chapter (5 years), charter member of the North Perimeter Area Alumni Chapter (2021), and past and current ASUNAA Executive Board Member-at-Large. Nelson is the daughter of the late Ben C. Hampton and Rubye E.W. Hampton. 

The Albany State University Alumni Association is a Corporation, a legally recognized organization under the laws of the State of Georgia. The Association is classified as a non-profit, tax-exempt organization formed solely for philanthropic purposes.